Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Topic Options
#100696 - 04/12/05 03:31 PM LEARNING TO DIVE?
scubaron Offline
has anyone out there experienced any dive instruction from Victoria House? Ron is a certified diver, I am not, and NOT SURE if I want to or can be. They claim they have one on one instruction.

#100697 - 04/13/05 02:05 AM Re: LEARNING TO DIVE?
Capt Dennis Offline
My nephew was certified by Protech (PADI) (just up the beach at the Yacht Club Pier). Jr is a PADI instructor. It was the best experience we could hope for. My husband and I have been diving for over 20 years. Protech would rate as one of the best dive operations hands down we have been to.

#100698 - 04/13/05 03:32 PM Re: LEARNING TO DIVE?
scubaron Offline
Since we live near Reno, Nv, I would have to take the dive tests in Lake Tahoe - COLD! So we were thinking about doing the referral course in AC. Certainly would be alot warmer and prettier, as there is nothing in Lake Tahoe to see.

#100699 - 04/13/05 03:39 PM Re: LEARNING TO DIVE?
travelqueen Offline
Quote:
Originally posted by scubaron:
there is nothing in Lake Tahoe to see.
There's awesome skiing!

#100700 - 04/13/05 03:44 PM Re: LEARNING TO DIVE?
CHOOCHOO Offline
Over the past three years we've had 4 people do their OW referral through Amigos Del Mar. As one might expect everything with Amigos was first class. The wife did her OW out of Victoria House some years ago, but we seem not to hear much about their dive operation these days.

#100701 - 04/13/05 03:50 PM Re: LEARNING TO DIVE?
scubaron Offline
One good thing about doing a referral is that in Reno, Diver Certificaton cost $150.00, rather than the $350 in AC.

TQ: I really meant IN Lake Tahoe. The area is beautiful, with plenty of things to do. Ron did his certs there, and beside a log, a sunken small boat, there was nothing much to see, not even fish.

#100702 - 04/13/05 04:01 PM Re: LEARNING TO DIVE?
travelqueen Offline