Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#111709 - 11/26/05 07:13 PM First Timer
sea urchin Offline
This will be my first trip to Ambergris Caye, and I have some questions. I'm sure many people have asked these questions besides me, so sorry in advance.

Is there another way to get to the Caye besides the local airlines?

Can anybody suggest a hotel in the $50-75 a night (US) range?

I plan to bring Travelers Checks. Is there anyplace I can cash them?

I hope to do some snorkling (I'm new at it), but mainly plan to lie around on the beach and splash in the water a bit. Are the beaches swimmable? Everybody keeps talking about snorkling and diving, but I'm not a strong swimmer so just preper to paddle around in the shallows.

Thanks for any suggestions.

#111710 - 11/26/05 07:23 PM Re: First Timer
Kra-Z-K Offline
SPINDRIFTS. $45-60/night, in town, on the beach, very clean and spacious rooms, and the 2 women that work at the front desk are so kind. They take cash, travelers checks (and give you the change as nearly everywhere does), and credit cards.

As for snorkling, my first trip here I went with Amigo's. They are extremly good at personal attention and tending to your individual needs. In fact, if you need extra assistance will get another person there to go with you if you want. I never intended on diving, and felt they were so professional that I ended up learning to dive here with them. Since then have been diving with a few others, no complaints, all fine, but really feel Amigo's goes the extra mile to ensure safety and a wonderful time.

I like Manuel or Andy for snorkling...

If you decide to do a resort diving course I like Eddie or Jim.

Once you dive, I like diving with Andy, Fito, Emilio, or Penguino Tony.

#111711 - 11/26/05 07:26 PM Re: First Timer
sea urchin Offline
Wow, you guys are fast! Thanks for the info.

#111712 - 11/26/05 07:34 PM Re: First Timer
Kra-Z-K Offline