Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#142586 02/23/02 11:18 AM
when i checked YEARS ago, i was told malaria is highly uncommon there. anyone know if this is still true?

#142587 02/23/02 11:34 AM
We over medicate ourselves. Americans think a pill or an injection is the only cure or preventative measure. Common sense is then over ruled. Doctors will give us what we want as long as they have a satisfied customer. Sad but true.

#142588 02/23/02 06:51 PM
B
B
ditto to Chloe's remark about staying out of the sun on Cipro...my dr sent it w/me on my 1st trip there last year & the first morning out on the beach in the sun, my shoulders & chest started itching & soon I had a rash...it disappeared as soon as I got in the shade, but what kind of dr prescribes something where you should avoid the sun to someone who is going to a TROPICAL island?!?!? stopped taking after the 1st day & was fine

#142589 02/23/02 09:38 PM
M
M
I'm no expert but thought I'd add a personal note on the Cipro, I was also prescribed it by my doctor in case of "Traveler's Diarhea, etc.". But not to take it unless I got sick. I had this along in Mexico the last time I went & it was a true vacation saver. Didn't take it until I got sick, and with Cipro was better within 24 hours.

makedesigns
#142590 02/24/02 12:47 AM
OMG, i never take anything...thank god
MR

going togo eat an orange right now. lol

[This message has been edited by Mosquitorose (edited 02-23-2002).]

Love is a many splendid thing and food runs a close second.
#142591 02/24/02 04:48 AM
S
S
Sorry for the LONG post--But I am appalled at the number of people who are apparently being given CIPRO by their doctors when they are NOT SICK, merely because they are going to Belize. This is gross malpractice. CIPRO is a very powerful drug that should only be taken if you HAVE a serious bacterial infection. Going to Belize is NOT the equivalent of being exposed to anthrax!
DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG AS A PROPHYLACTIC.