Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
OP Offline
S
well I need a little help. I visited AC a couple of weeks ago and fell in love. I'm thinking about coming for the summer. I have two options..
1- just come down find a cheap place to stay for 2 or 3 months and maybe a job to help me make it through the sum.
or
2- Possibly do a research project on the island dealing w/ pollution. I am a college senior and could possibly do something productive w/ the summer.
so my question is this how easy would it be for me to find some kind of job on AC- I'm a certified EMT not that it even matters I would do pretty much anything for a job just kind of looking to get away. Secondly does anyone know if the is any groups or people involved w/ any enviromental projects on the island I could get in contact with. Thanks for any help.

A
Anonymous
Anonymous
A
An EMT might be just the thing to help get our new ambulance going. Ask Dr. Sersland.

S
OP Offline
S
How can I get in contact with Dr. Sersland?
Thanks

S
S
For volunteer work with environmental projects, recommend you try Green Reef, under "Goods & Services" above; they have an E-mail link; the President is Mito Paz. Paid work may be a problem due to labor laws and the need for a work permit. So glad you loved the island.

A volunteer will need a permit too, unless that has recently changed.

LB Offline
You must have a work permit to work or volunteer. If you are found to be doing either without a permit you can be fined, jailed, or deported. And they will do it. I know one couple that was deported because they began working before the application process was finished.