Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 12
L
luathas Offline OP
OP Offline
L
I am a Licensed Practical Nurse, and I'm trying to find out--- (1)How I can get a nursing license in Belize. (2)Can I work if I've only 'applied' for a work permit. (3)If I have to wait on permit, how long? (4)Can I bring my car, a 1997 Taurus in and not get charged a lot of money. (5)Can you live there and not have to take malaria drugs the rest of your life. How deadly is 'your' form of the disease, anyway? I know you can gain immunity to it eventually.

alan eggleston
L
L
Where will you be living in Belize? The question of malaria would depend on your location. In San Pedro that would not be much of an issue. You will have to appy for a work permit and licensing thru the government. No you cannot work if you have "applied",only after your license and work permit have final approval. This can take anywhere from 6wks. to 6yrs. So don't expect to go to work immediatly. You will get charged a considerable amount of duty on a vehicle. If you are thinking of taking it to S.P. that also requires additional permits and they don't really want cars.

R.B. Mernitz
L
luathas Offline OP
OP Offline
L
That's another question. I don't know where to live there. I hear some places are cheap, but I don't know where the work is. I'm a 51 yo guy with an 18 yo daughter and a little dog. To tell the truth, they say next year they are starting a military draft in the USA, and will draft men and women 18-26, regardless of their situation. I'll walk down there before I let my daughter be a mercenary for a corrupt government....

alan eggleston
E
E
Try Canada.

L
luathas Offline OP
OP Offline
L