Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Topic Options
#23143 - 06/20/00 02:56 AM expensive?August?
rosepillo Offline
I have been to Costa Rica and loved it. Belize looks very interesting to me also. I am a student and do not have alot of disposable funds. Are there inexpensive clean places to stay? I was looking to go to Ambergris and Caulker-are these good spots to go to relax on the beach(I've never snorkled, but I would give it a shot. I do enjoy fishing however) My main concerns are expense and wheather or not August is good time to go to the islands. I seem to be getting conflicting info about the cost of lodging. Also when I went to Costa Rica I did not make any reservations. We just drove to where we wanted to go and got hotels then. Is that possible to do in the cayes? What would you estimate a couple spending for 7 nights in August? What is the best place to fly into and what is the best (or cheapest) way to get to the cayes? Help!!!

#23144 - 06/20/00 03:34 AM Re: expensive?August?
Lan Sluder/Belize First Offline
I first went to Costa Rica in 1982 when a beer at a top hotel was 15 cents, and a meal in a top restaurant was $2 or $3, but in recent years, Costa Rica has become fairly expensive. Certainly at the top end hotels in Costa Rica are as expensive or more so than similar accommodations in Belize.

Costa Rica does have more budget-level accommodations than Belize, but in most areas of Belize you can find good, safe accommodations for under US$25 a night. (I just did the update for Belize for UpClose Central America guide, formerly Berkeley Guide, so I know there are plenty of decent budget places.)