Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#236187 04/24/07 05:57 PM
T
TpaRyan Offline OP
OP Offline
T
My wife and I have recently been discussing relocating and after she finishes school this fall we are going to try and get some time off from work and visit Belize. We currently live in the US and we are trying to find out what our employment opportunities will be in if we move. She is a registered nurse with experience in oncology, I.D., and currently works as an infusion nurse. I am a firefighter/paramedic. If anyone has any info on the need for nurses, firefighters or paramedics, or can point us in the right direction to find out we would greatly appreciate it.

Lots of need, but very little pay and jobs go to Belizeans first.

T
TpaRyan Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I have read a little about work permits and understand that pay in central america is much lower than north america. Is it even feasible for my wife and I to make a living in Belize? I have read that the national fire service is basically just in belize city and that the rest of the country is not very well protected.
We are well aware that we will make much less than we do now, but it is more the lifestyle that intersts us than money. Even though we make decent money here in comparison to salaries in Belize we have a very busy life and not a lot to show for it. We are both young and would like to enjoy our lives and time with each other and be able to contribute to the community rather than just work and pass by each other like we do now. Not expecting an extravegant lifestyle, just want to make sure that we would even be employable if we do move.

S
S
Best to come and check it out. You'll find out if you can survive on the pay here.

T
TpaRyan Offline OP
OP Offline
T
We are going to try to in the fall when my wife is out of school, any recomendations on what area to stay in and check out? I have been doing research, but would like recomendations for what area to look at and stay in when we do come.