Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
OP Offline
I figure there are enough attorneys on this board to make for some interesting insight/discussion on this topic.

California has a Senate Bill pending which includes a section providing that every lawyer practicing in California will be "expected" to make a "contribution" by providing pro bono (free) legal services. Where it's not feasible for a lawyer to directly provide pro bono services, the requirement may be fulfilled by providing financial support to organizations providing free legal services to persons of limited means.

I have done, and continue to do, some pro bono work; and I'm a proponent of giving back to my community, but should it be required?????

I can never remember which is better . . . safe? . . . or sorry?
I'm not a lawyer, Leah-Ann, but the government requiring anyone giving to charity is ridiculous. I feel its similar to mandatory tips in certain places. If they are going to require a certain tip from me, they will get it, and no more. Ordinarily I'm generous but if they demand something, they will get exactly what they demand and nothing more.

Many many people are very generous when giving to charity voluntarily. Why does the government think its their job to require it? I'm suprised they're presenting it as they are. Typically they'd just tax all lawyers and earmark the money for a new government-funded law-bill relief plan of some sort.

Not a lawyer either (he he he), but that idea stinks. Only in California (not meant in a disrespectful way, of course)would that idea be floated. Just my opinion. My wife says it sounds like Minnesotas medical provider tax. Obviously in California they need more legal help than medical.

Been there, done that, the washing machine ate the T-shirt
E
E
Or, mental help.

I don't agreed w/ "required".. Some do enuff work to "satisfy" that requirement. Gov. sux..

Take the road less traveled