Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#27445 - 09/21/00 12:25 PM The Truth about Obtaining Work Permits?
BelizeWater Offline
Hi, I'm hoping someone can shed some light on the work permit situation for me..I've been given mixed messages, are they hard to obtain? Or a simple procedure? As you may or may not know, Consolidated Water of Grand Cayman, has purchased Seatec Belize (the Water Supply Company on Amergris). I'm trying to see how hard it will be to get a permit for staff...I'd appreciate your imput..How long, types of jobs that can get permits, etc etc

#27446 - 09/21/00 12:55 PM Re: The Truth about Obtaining Work Permits?
Sandshaker Offline
I'll tell you...but you have to PROMISE...IN WRITING.....to give us cheaper rates!

#27447 - 09/21/00 01:03 PM Re: The Truth about Obtaining Work Permits?
BelizeWater Offline
I'll see what I can do I'm just an engineer but you see, the higher the water demand, the more we can make and its cheaper to make larger volumes..so tell everyone to hook up to the water system so we can use more water and prices will drop.. from my understanding only 1 in 3 are connected..If we can get the big users, hotels etc online we'll get the volumes up!!! Keep in mind that on some of the islands in the Bahamas they are paying in the vicinty of $18-20 US per 1000 gal...I'll do my best..

#27448 - 09/21/00 01:08 PM Re: The Truth about Obtaining Work Permits?
BelizeWater Offline
Keep in mind that we don't set the water rates, we are selling water to the Goverment, who in turn, sells the water to you..so,ultimately its up to them. But from what I currently understand, they aren't making any money in Ambergris at this point...couldn't tell you why, maybe the distribution system has a lot of leaks? Maybe they need to restructure the rates; commerical companies have a higher rate than the residents etc...we have that in Cayman...

#27449 - 09/21/00 01:21 PM Re: The Truth about Obtaining Work Permits?