Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#287161 07/03/08 07:21 AM
Nova Offline OP
OP Offline
Thought some of you would find this interesting....today's email from Kidlet's dad. (A little long, but worth the read)

Hello everyone! How are you all? I'm doing very well actually. After last week most of the guys spirits are up. We appreciate all the thoughts and prayers we heard from many of you. Thank you from all of us.

Well tomorrow is Independence Day, and being this is my first time celebrating outside of the country. It gave me the opportunity to see things from a different perspective.

When you see people who have lived under tyranny and in some parts continue to live under tyranny, you get to see our country from the outside looking in.

You have a new appreciation for the country.

We're still a great nation despite some ugliness.

America has a lot of flaws no doubt. Those who do not see those flaws need to do as I am doing and step outside the box.

There are many who have this "love it or leave it" attitude. That's just the wrong answer. I guess they would have told that to women at the turn of the century when they fought for the right to vote. Or maybe they would have told that to the freedom riders during the civil rights movement. No. You can love it and change it. That's what our nation has been doing since its birth and its what makes us great.

She is not perfect, she will never be perfect but she is always worth fighting for. Because America at its best, is always seeking to be better.

I like being a solider.

I love the comradery and the good we do. Yeah I know there are times we have to hurt people and that part of the gig. I saw a T-shirt a fellow soldier wore, that said to the affect "good people sleep well at night cause there are men who are willing to do violence in their name"