Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#289849 07/22/08 10:17 AM
C
Carib Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Ok, as a newbie, I was reading "Why does anyone with a brain love Belize" (or words to that effect).... and I picked on the "M" word .... mosquito.

How saturated is it down there with 'em, do I need Malaria shots, and what combats 'em...?????

Last edited by Carib; 07/22/08 10:17 AM.

"And, Hey Kids..!! Don't Forget to Smash The State!!!"
- Mr. Natural
Carib #289850 07/22/08 10:20 AM
S
S
No shots or pills needed here on Ambergris Caye, but if you go into the jungles you may consider them.
Our mosquitos only get active at Happy Hour but OFF takes care of that.

SP Daily #289853 07/22/08 10:38 AM
well, actually, i think it really depends on where on the island you are. There's a reason they call it "mosquito coast" down south here....cant put out the trast this time of year without some bug spray. all those rain showers...

C
Carib Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Gotcha.

Maybe what I'm looking for is an overall crash course here ....:

- Critters and their downfall (we've talked about that, but more is good)

- Are sneaks and flipflops really practical..? Maybe a good pair of moisture resistant hikers..?

- Any other daily keep-yerself-alive-and-healthy-stuff-info would be ....well, ... nice.

"And, Hey Kids..!! Don't Forget to Smash The State!!!"
- Mr. Natural
Carib #289855 07/22/08 10:46 AM
Sandals, sneaks, flipflops, crocs . . .all work fine. No need to pack hiking shoes unless you plan to go to the mainland and trudge thru the jungle.

When you find a big kettle of crazy, it's best not to stir it.
For staying alive and healthy, we found; eat many meals with the locals, and buy their fruit. Take lots of long walks on the beach, drink plenty of water and island rum, oh remember Happy Hour happens many hours/day. The rest of the time we just bumbled through the day, having few plans or schedules and the days/nights were always an adventure.

M. Sjulstad