Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#297237 09/06/08 12:37 PM
P
Phxgrl Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Looking to relocate to San Pedro for a year. I'm an attorney licensed in the U.S. and have been practicing corporate law for 8 years. I would love to work for a law firm or multi-national company in San Pedro or Belize City, even if I couldn't practice law. If anyone has any leads, please let me know. Thanks!

You cannot even do volunteer work while in Belize without applying and recieving a work permit.

Phxgrl...don't let anyone try to discourage you....if there is a will..there is a way....go for it!

Good for you Phxgrl, best of luck!

Dabunk, she never said she was not going to apply for a work permit? Way to encourage!

L
L
Phxgrl: good question and one that I always have wondered what the answer is. I am in my 11th year of practicing in California as a civil lit defense attorney. Although I have never considered relocating to Belize to work, I did do some in-depth research into possible available work in Panama - may give you ideas or food for thought, even though Belizean law may be completely different.

A friend in Panama hooked me up with his corporate attorney in Panama City. The Panamanian attorney was kind enough to speak to me and e-mail me with tons of info.

--In order to practice law there, you must go to a Panama law school. But, you can only do that if you are a Panamanian citizen (born or naturalized) or from a Latin American country. So, struck down from the beginning for me.

--There are American lawyers there that act as consultants with Panamanian law firms, but they cannot sign legal documents (obviously). You really need to know somebody or have some unique and valuable credentials.