Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#368650 02/25/10 08:51 AM
C
Cooper Offline OP
OP Offline
C
With the high airfares out of Belize I am thinking of going RT from Cancun in May. I usually leave here with empty suitcases and return with supplies for my business, computer, printers, paints etc. My question will I get charged Duty upon arriving in Mexico..dont want to pay twice! I will have my bus ticket with me to Belize and I am a legal resident of Belize.....

LONELY PLANET SAYS TOURIST LOVE OUR ART. BEST PRICES ON ART.
We usually fly out of Cancun and back into Belize City. This way we don't have to lug our heavy bags back on the bus to Belize. Usually saves about $300 US per person doing it this way. Have never come back in through Cancun so not sure about customs practices coming in there.

Change your Latitude
P
P
I've often flown into Cancun and have never been charged duty. They're even allowed me to bring in things prohibited in Mexico on my assurance that I'm taking them straight to Belize.

Belizean Customs at Corozal can be another matter.....

M
M
When you enter Belize at the Northern border, you will be asked, "Do you have anything to declare?", just as you would at PGIA.

P
P
Yes. Sometimes they'll just accept your word and wave you through, other times they may open every bag and spread the contents over several tables. Seems to depend on how bored they are. I was once charged duty on prescription drugs, even though all packages were clearly marked by the pharmacy with my name and I had a copy of the prescription with me. Yet on another occasion I declared a Stilton cheese weighing around 12lb, and not only did they not confiscate it (as I believe they should have done) they didn't even charge duty. Quite inconsistent.

C
C