Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#37876 04/22/01 04:36 PM
B
OP Offline
B
Well, here goes. I'm a retired teacher so this may be long, but bear with me. We did so much. Left Buffaol,NY on 4/1. Overnight in Miami. Landed in Belize on 4/2. Met be Valentino from Windy Hill Resort. Drove a while and stopped at the Belize Zoo. Before goigh in had a picnic lunch prepared by Windy Hill-yummy. Valentino took us (4) around the zoo and talked about all the different animals and birds we saw-very informative. I loved the fact that the animals appear in almost their natural settings, not just in sterile cages. Zoo has a small gift shop where you can buy books written by Sharon Matola who started the Zoo. I bought 2! They are all about the animals of Belize. Then it was back in our van for another 2(?) hr. ride through interesting countryside that Valentino talked about until we got to Windy Hill. Effortless check in and then headed for a dip in the pool with a side trip to the bar for belikins!! So refreshing and peaceful. Lovely grounds. 100 acres of trees, flowers, birds singing, gentle breezes, and good company. Meals were included in our stay and the menu was set. Dinner-split bean soup-out of this world!!! chicken breast, potatoes, garnaches(SP?) fried jacks and coconut pie for dessert-heaven. Breakfast next day-full am. style-eggs,ham, potatoes, watermelon, juice toast, coffee-I hope you're getting the picture-we certainly didn't starve. Then it was off to Tikal for the day. Driver and guide for the 4 of us. Ruins magnificant. Lunch at small place across street form Tikal where we ate with a huge group of AM> and Guat> soldiers. AM. there to help dig wells for water. Brief stop before crossing the border for shopping-picken up a beautiful hammock (my hubby really liked lying in the one on our veranda and I got one just like it) woven purse. Back to Windy Hill for another dip in the pool. Dinner-beef strips w/ onions and gr. pepper, pot, squash w/ flan for dessert. T