Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Topic Options
#386423 - 08/25/10 10:00 PM Analog or Digital TV
gabby Offline
Hi - I have cable through Coral Cable, and want to bring a small TV down this trip. The new ones they're selling here are now digital only, not the crossover analog/digital. What's broadcast on the island, analog or digital?
Thank you!

#386433 - 08/26/10 06:11 AM Re: Analog or Digital TV [Re: gabby]
dabunk Offline
Analog only

#386435 - 08/26/10 08:18 AM Re: Analog or Digital TV [Re: dabunk]
CaptOneIron Offline
I am not an expert but I installed five new televisions on AC and hooked them up to Coral Cable without any difficulty. I think the box provided actually handles both types of tvs but certainly it handled my digitals. I now have satellite so perhaps something has changed.
Captain One Iron

#386436 - 08/26/10 08:35 AM Re: Analog or Digital TV [Re: gabby]
collyk Offline
I have an analog TV but I've got friends who have digitals. Digitals actually seem to get the channels registered properly through Coral Cable. So, while I have to punch in the numbers for some channels: for example I can press forward on the remote up to channel 50, but my analog doesn't recognise channel 50 and will skip to 51 (which happens to be Animal Planet), I actually have to key in the numbers 5 0. That is the same with many channels. The digital TVs don't seem to have a problem with this. So, I think a digital TV will be fine. I'm sure others will have a better technical understanding of this.
Belize Wedding Photography

#386437 - 08/26/10 08:49 AM Re: Analog or Digital TV [Re: gabby]
elbert Offline
Blu-Ray makes me want to say digital is the way to go.
The Dive Shops Daily Blog

#386449 - 08/26/10 10:11 AM Re: Analog or Digital TV [Re: gabby]
JZB Offline
Colly, sounds like you only need to change the channel lineup programmed in your TV.

Coral Cable says their going digital in the next few months by running fiber optic lines. We'll see.