Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
H
howardv Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Is there a need for university trained maths teachers in Belize? I won't need a work permit, so that is not an issue (will get CARICOM Certificate of Recognition). I am expecting to take an early retirement from teaching in Canada and move to Belize - to either farm or teach... but if the country doesn't need qualified teachers (I have a BMath degree and MSc in Education) then I will just farm.

S
S
I assume that even though you live in Canada you hold a CARICOM passport?

M
M
There is a need for qualified teachers at all levels. You might not like the pay however.

H
howardv Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Yes. I have a CARICOM passport. Dual nationality.

H
howardv Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Well i will have some retirement income coming in from Canada, and we live pretty simply... so the pay isn't that important. Thanks though.

C
C
From April 9th when you said you would get a caricom Passport to a week later when you said you had one, boy..it takes several years , usually 5...and several steps to acquire a caricom passport..how did you manage it.

LONELY PLANET SAYS TOURIST LOVE OUR ART. BEST PRICES ON ART.
S
S
There is a difference between a Cert and a passport. If you have a CARICOM passport you can get the Cert, if you don't you can't.

C
C
OK..understand, just read to fast..I actually had never heard of a certificate, but if a trained professional as in Doctor or teacher wants to come to Belize to work sounds like a better plan than having to get work permits etc..

H
howardv Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Sorry... I should be more accurate. A Jamaican passport is a CARICOM passport. My Jamaican passport is currently expired, but I am in the process of getting a new one... and it won't take 5 years - shouldn't be more than a few months at most. But I will have to apply for the certificate when I arrive in Belize.

C
C