Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Topic Options
What's eating this?
Datura - member of the Deadly Nightshade family - as are tomatoes and potatoes. We started many of these plants from seed. They have a great fragrance - especially at night.
Other images in post
Image Details
Poster ScubaLdy Offline
Posted 04/28/11 09:25 AM
Here are photos of a few of my 'favorite things'. I need help identifying a couple of them.
Dimensions 798x1200
Size 131.53 KB

#406388 - 04/28/11 10:51 AM Re: What's eating this? [Re: ScubaLdy]
Judyann H. Offline
Wow Harriette... I am still a novice with regard to flora & fauna in Belize so I'm no help with the ID. However, I wanted to comment that these are incredible photos....Beautiful color and detail....Nice Job!
My friends call me Judyann

#410389 - 06/22/11 06:23 PM Re: What's eating this? [Re: ScubaLdy]
PSUhorty Offline
Your Datura leaf is being eaten by leafminers. More specifically, it's the larvae of a small fly that deposits its eggs inside the leaf. The larve then 'mines' its way through the leaf, between the upper and lower dermal layers... which is the tracking you see on the leaf.

#410401 - 06/22/11 08:55 PM Re: What's eating this? [Re: PSUhorty]
ScubaLdy Offline
Thanks - is there anything I can do about it? It seems to have abated some recently.
Take only pictures leave only bubbles

#410417 - 06/23/11 08:21 AM Re: What's eating this? [Re: ScubaLdy]
shuffles Offline
There is some powder at Castillos. The same things were eating the leaves of my cannas. You just powder up the leaves, top and bottom and they will go. After it rains or you get water on the leaves, you have to powder again. They really like these things!!
Change your Latitude

#410478 - 06/23/11 02:34 PM Re: What's eating this? [Re: ScubaLdy]
Cara Offline