Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
S
S
It is getting more popular here for long distant business owners to utilize online monitoring tools such as video cameras and software (quickbooks) to access business activity/data frequently.

Having said that, "boots on the ground" or a strong, trustworthy manager/ oversight person in place will be key. I would imagine this would apply anywhere. "When the cat is away......"

C
C
I have been a business owner all my life, and I would NEVER attempt to "run" a business long-distance. "Running" a business means exactly that: YOU run it. You have to be on top of your business all the time, making sure that customers are treated properly, inventory is in line, books are balanced accurately and honestly, etc. Yes, there will always be shrink due to a moderate amount of internal theft, but that is the price of doing business. We have only one location of our retail chain that is a bit away (1 hour driving time), but we are lucky in the fact that it has been run by a dear and trusted friend for the past 10+ years. Not all friends/family can be trusted.

Insanity to try and have a business down here and live in the states. Most of these island guys where born learning to take advantage of foreigners coming to the islands. Its practically a heritage and the Gringos are the commodity.

White Sands Dive Shop
https://whitesandsdiveshop.com/
OP Offline
Originally Posted by catdance62