By Wellington C. Ramos

When I was a child growing up in Dangriga Town, I was a student that played football for Sacred Heart School along with Anthony Adderly (Garincha), Roy Velasquez (Brazilian), Philip Palacio (Buck Palacio), George Hasbun (Camal), Osbert Usher (Letrines), Henry Martinez, Hector Martinez (Malcolm), Stephen Diego (Johnny Cool), James Noralez, Robert Pinnock and several other football players who later became stars for the Dangriga Selection.

Born in Dangriga Town, the cultural capital of Belize, Wellington Ramos has BAs in Political Science and History from Hunter College, NY, and an MA in Urban Studies from Long Island University. He is an Adjunct Professor of Political Science and History
During those days, Mr Carl Ramos, better known as “Kiwi”, self-sponsored the Dangriga Town Primary School Competition. The games were between the following schools; Sacred Heart, Methodist, Holy Ghost, Anglican, St Matthews and Holy Angels. The games were played every Thursday at 3:30 pm and the field was always crowded with people from the town and villages.

The year before I joined the team, Methodist School won the competition and they had one of the best teams in town. After that year, Sacred Heart School won for two consecutive years. It was customary for the players who left their elementary schools, to go on to high schools if their parents could afford the tuition. The high schools that were in Stann Creek District at the time were Austin High School (Catholic Church), which I attended, Stann Creek High School (Anglican Church) and Lynam College (Catholic Church).