Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#415036 08/29/11 12:39 PM
B
OP Offline
B
This may be answered else where in this forum...but I started looking and it was a ton to read. I have been a resident for a year and a half. Can I vote for the next mayor? Dying to know! thx.

Hmm I know that commonwealth citizens can vote in municipal elections - folks from Australia, South Africa, Canada, UK etc.

Good question. I look forward to hearing the answer.

R
R
It took me a few minutes to find this but when I was looking into residency I remember some one telling me this or maybe I read it. I believe you can vote in the local election. It would be easy to go down the the town hall and inquire and register which is just what I would do.

http://www.belizefirst.com/QRPUpdate.htm

"Official Permanent Residency

Pros: Full residency rights (except voting in national elections -- you can vote in local elections), can work, open to anyone regardless of age, tax-free entry of household effects."

Jim
Formerly from somewhere on a beach in Belize
S
S
Great to know, Jim! Curious if anyone has a figure for the number of residents on AC....

B
OP Offline
B
I made it easy on myself and just called the Elections Board. Residents from Commonwealth countries can vote, otherwise you need to have been naturalized. Lowly Americans get nothing. Oh well...

R
R
Thanks for getting back to us on that point. If I think of it I will look into this a little closer this winter. I wonder if that is the local interpretation of the law or is that the way it is in all of Belize because I've never heard or read of that distinction.

Not saying one way or another, could very well be, but interesting.

PS
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right_of_foreigners_to_vote#Belize