Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
Turnbun Offline OP
OP Offline
T
FYI -
The shots question jump started my concern for my health while in Belize, so I made an appointment with my travel clinic here in Austin. It seems that if you are spending all your time on AC, you don't have much to worry about. Since I am spending time in the jungle and Guatemala, I got a typhoid shot as well as Hep A/B and malaria pills. That typhoid shot is SMARTS! Boy does my arm hurt. So, if you're not going into the jungle, it sounded like you are pretty safe. However, I am not a doctor, and this is not medical advice, so don't sue me if I'm wrong. (us lawyers are always paranoid - disclaim everything)

J
J
Well, finally back to the subject although the other "subject" was quite interesting.
I did get the Hep A, Typhoid and am now taking Malaria pills. Also prescriptions for The Travelers Blues. Better safe than sorry I guess. Only doing day trips to the mainland, but you can get Hep A anywhere!
I'll be there in 4 days and don't want anything to spoil my two weeks in paradise! Anyone else getting close to a trip?

A
Anonymous
Anonymous
A
Serious now, I don't really know how that other thread got all weird, but if you are not up on your tetanus shot, (it lasts for years) I would consider getting one of those also. If you are a diver I would talk to your doc and get some 'Entex-LA' if
you suffer from sinus troubles or happen to get a cold while there, it will really keep the sinuses open and drained, a good aid for
intestinal troubles is 'Lomotil', both are prescription drugs, so you will need to ask
your Dr. for them. I look at this way, as I spend thousands of dollars to go have fun, I do not want to let some cold, flu, sickness or disease to get the best of me, so I take my shots in the butt (don't want a sore arm) and take all the drugs with me to help us if we require them. I'm sure we have all heard a ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

T
Turnbun Offline OP