Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Marty Offline OP
OP Offline

belize-yellow-parrot-250I would like to ask your support for a great cause - saving the highly endangered Belizean Yellow-headed Parrot using artificial cavities similar to those we pioneered right here in the Southeastern US for the Red-cockaded Woodpecker.

The Story

I'm a wildlife biologist.  At my day job, I work for a public land management agency in Florida's Big Bend region on the Gulf coast.  One of the endangered species that I work with is the Red-cockaded woodpecker (RCW).  I'm also a traveling biologist who helps landowners throughout the range of the Red-cockaded Woodpecker recover populations of this amazing little bird.  This venture gets me out into the field conducting on-the-ground conservation projects focused on this rare woodpecker species and southern pine forests in general.  A cornerstone of my work with the RCW is installing artificial nest cavities in high up in live pine trees.  A thousand miles south of here, another critically endangered bird also lives in cavities in pine trees.  It will benefit from the same type of artificial cavities as the RCW.

The Parrot