Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#426762 01/05/12 05:17 AM
L
LSC Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Urgent!!!! I am a Canadian and have been trying to figure out how to bring spending money to San Pedro.
I have an American Dollar Mastercard from BMO which is a Canadian bank. Are there ATM machines in San Pedro that I can use to access cash?
OR does anyone have other advice?

LSC #426771 01/05/12 08:09 AM
Hon Offline
Yes, there are many ATMs in San Pedro...in all the banks and also freestanding in several locations. We do our banking at Scotiabank both in Canada and Belize so we don't pay any fees but you will likely be charged between $3 and $5 per transaction. Because of that, I advise that you take the full amount allowed in order to keep the fees to a minimum.
Bring a few hundred $US cash(if you can, get a couple of $1s (for tips)and $5s (beer, taxis, snacks)) to get you started and you'll hit the ground running.

Newfoundlanders are the only people in heaven who want to go home.
Hon #426781 01/05/12 08:29 AM
Just bring lots and lots of greenbacks and flaunt them in front of everyone at the bars. Then walk home by yourself at 3 AM. No worries.

Dr Walkabout Buzzard

I have a couple of questions too.

Generally what is the max BZ$ that one get out in a transaction or the daily limit?

In MX ATM's often ran out of cash so going to the bank while slower was more reliable than being empty handed. Is this a concern in AC?

We generally purchase local currency and bring it down, but we've discovered the service charge at the currency houses here in Edmonton is too high to make bringing BZ$ down practical so we'll begin with some USD and then rely on the local ATM's.

thanks a bunch for your help
Ann y Lorne aka SayNo2Sonw

For my many trips to Belize I have always brought US Travellers Cheques ($20's mostly) and never had a problem. Most tours accepted them as payment and the hotels would cash for me. Maybe things have changed?

LSC #426901 01/06/12 09:07 AM