Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
OP Offline
A
Coming down in Feb after a year hiatus. I've been watching the message boards for a while and I am concerned about increased crime. Last time I was there, the Hardware store a block away was robbed and the perpetrator never caught despite our own secutity guard spotting him in nearby brush. The grocery store I went to was robbed in broad daylight a few hours prior to our arrival.

I feel safe at home with 24 hour security and a fence but once I leave, I have concerns. I have been coming down frequently for 12 years. I have had a few run-ins with petty thieves but yelling usually deters them. Now they have guns and knives. I was the victim of an attempted mugging several years ago but being aware of my surroundings, I yelled for a friend to call police. The would-be muggers fled. I do, however know exactly what they looked like.

Better yet, I was bicycling when an expat Brit woman blocked my path and accused me of stealing her computer because the rather generic computer bag in my basket looked like hers. The computer was stolen 2 or 3 days prior to my arrival on the island. I actually went to the police station to register my computer's SN so this local? would not accost me again.

So, with every visit, this will be number 24, should I expect less Island hospitality and more Jamaica like "watch everyone, trust no-one, and maybe your should go home".

I'm not sure owning a piece of this particular paradise is worth what I've had to deal with.

Also worth mentioning: Attempted rape by a security guard from a resort a little south of town hired by a security company, not the resort.

My little paradise has been just that for all the friends I bring down after I warn them it is not safe after dark. Or apparently in daylight now.

Come on up north and find the island you were attracted to long ago.
Peaceful, safe, friendly.
Sleep with the windows open, walk along the beach in the moonlight.