Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#491190 - 05/21/14 08:54 PM Belizean Bank Loses Its USD Correspondent Bank?
OttoGear Offline
There is a Belizean bank that has been rumored to have lost its USD correspondent bank which means hundreds are not able to get their money out of the bank.

Anyone know which bank recently had these problems and if they fixed them by getting another correspondent bank?

Thanks, Otto

#491227 - 05/22/14 02:19 PM Re: Belizean Bank Loses Its USD Correspondent Bank? [Re: OttoGear]
Nobody You Know Offline
The main reason a bank would lose it's US correspondent bank relationship is FATCA non-compliance.Though I have no first hand knowledge I find it highly unlikely that any of the major Belizean banks are not complying and have jeopardized their US banking relationships...

#491603 - 05/30/14 12:41 AM Re: Belizean Bank Loses Its USD Correspondent Bank? [Re: OttoGear]
Agavegirl Offline
Received yesterday from accounting at my Condo:

This update is to inform you of recent changes in U.S. and Belizean banking regulations. Effective immediately, we are no longer permitted to operate with our U.S. bank account since we are a Belizean company with our operations in Belize. We were recently informed by our bank of this change in banking regulations, and since they need to comply with the new regulations, they are requiring us to comply immediately. This means that, until further notice, we are no longer able to provide US dollar disbursements (check or wire transfer). We are looking into the issue further and exploring alternatives so we can restructure some of our operations related to U.S. dollars and potentially provide this U.S.

funds disbursement service to you again in the future. We will provide you updates as they develop.