Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline
Ran across this article today. Left wondering what may be causing the decline and selfishly more important, how may this affect my traveling life and pocketbook.

http://www.caribjournal.com/2014/10...erica-caribbean-traffic-continues-slide/

A fish and a bird can fall in love, but where will they build their nest?

E
E
American Airlines (which now includes American Airlines and US Airways) does lower flights to the Caribbean during hurricane season. But, yes, it is definitely harder to come to Belize on AA than it has been in the past.

OP Offline
The article isn't about hurricane season but an annual year over year decline. While that article discusses American, it also mentions United.

J
JED Offline
J
I have been coming down every year for the past 7 years. And this years air fares went up and haven't come down at all it's around $950.00 per person. Last year 2 of came down for that amount. And they are baffled as to why the air traffic is down. Most of the carriers that would fly to these places have been combined into just 3 from 6.

Wife & I have been coming down every year for a long time, last year was the most we ever paid ($650 U.S) from Dayton Oh. We always fly Delta, This year we had enough air miles for 1 ticket so I got that & was going to wait for a good price for the other but it just kept going up. Today it was up to $1005.U.S. So I Looked around & found a ticket on US Air for $757. All take off & landing times are very close (30 min.)I just find it very strange to have to travel this way to get a decent deal.
Be down Feb.5th-14th.