Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#500140 01/20/15 04:47 PM
BZ4me Offline OP
OP Offline
Still working on our residence and just noticed my Colorado driver license will expire this year. Went to the DMV site for Colorado and when I try to put in my new mailing PO Box here in Belize it didn't work. I tried using my Virtual Mail address in California but then it wanted me to get a California driver license. I went to the California driver license and because it's my first time registering it told me I had to come in. So, I'm coming to you Expats who have far more experience at these things than me for help. If I've put this in the wrong locations, Marty would you please move it to the correct one?

why not have it sent to a friend in CO?

_ _ _ _ _ _ _________________ _ _ _ _ _ _
But then what do I know, I am but a mere caveman
Wondering if you can' get a Belize drivers license instead? They are accepted outside Belize.
The states issue licenses to residents, and if you no longer reside there your probably won't qualify.

Just go to Mexico and cross the border as an illegal alien and won't have any problem getting one.

R
R
Excellent suggestion, that will work plus there maybe other benefits.

Last edited by ragman; 01/21/15 07:43 AM. Reason: sp

Jim
Formerly from somewhere on a beach in Belize
R
R
That will work in most cases. I had a Scottish kid visit with me for a year or so and he had to get an International License" in order to drive my auto. I believe each State is different and the problem is mostly with the insurance companies, I'll bet.

On another note to do with this, I'm under the understanding that every American who lives out of the country has to have an address in the USA, for tax purposes in the USA. I did that for years using a Post Office type service. A Post Office Box probably won't cut it.

Both of these above comments do not affect me and my experience with the first is a little out of date.

Jim