The 2015 National Primary School Football Championship matches were held in Belize City today. For the entire day, the district champions, went up against each other to find out who is the best football team this year.

We stopped by the male games this afternoon, and spoke with one of the Coordinators from the National Sports Council about the tournament. Here’s what he told us the day’s event:

At the end of the game you saw, San Pedro RC finished Third, as the representative of the Belize District. They defeated La Immaculada RC from Orange Walk. The winner of this tournament is Independence RC from Stann Creek. They defeated Mount Carmel Primary from Cayo, which now takes second place. The most valuable male player went to goal keeper Marlon Flores.

In the female tournament, Bullet Tree girls from Immaculate Concepcion emerged victorious after defeating Caledonia from Corozal. That means that Cayo is now this year’s female football tournament. St. Peter Claver RC from Toledo came in third. Therese Martinez was chosen as the most valuable female player.

Channel 7