Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
OP Offline
M
Hi folks,

I am looking for a change of scene and Belize is looking like the best place for myself and my gf, we're both 30. I'm an applied researcher in Big Data and Machine Learning. It's a pretty good gig which I can do from home anywhere in the world. Currently I'm based in San Francisco but tax combined with a very high cost of living and constant visa issues (I'm Australian and visas get in the way of contracting) are all conspiring to make living here less than ideal.

What I'd like to get a sense for is if I could fit in with the expat community in San Pedro. I'm looking for feedback to help me set my expectations, and I'm looking to make friends who share some similar interests and hopefully hit the ground running.

So for my expectations of San Pedro; at a minimum I'd be happy with an air-conditioned room with internet (even slow and intermittent) where I can work, study and save money. With the money saved I could attend tech conferences around the world and be much more plugged into the tech scene than I am now living in the center of SF. So even if there isn't anyone that shares my interests at this stage I think moving to Belize would still be a good move.

But ideally what I'm looking for are for people in San Pedro who share similar interests to me to work with, hang out with and go on trips with. I'm into tech, flying, kiteboarding, traveling. I have equipment for fun outings that I'd be happy to share.

[<Edit: Toning it down a bit>]

My girlfriend shares many of my hobbies but is also really into Yoga and rural retreats.

At this stage my plan is to go to San Pedro for a few weeks as a sanity check and if it works out I'll move in April.

I'm really looking forward to it.

Cheers,
Matt

Last edited by moloneymb; 02/16/16 09:25 PM.