Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
OP Offline
L
I am a licensed landscape architect, contractor and horticulturist in the States seeking information on the business climate in Belize. Specifically I'd like to know about the demand for for someone with my skills.

I welcome any feedback.

Thanks,

Eric

If you do not mind working hard for very small wages compared to the US you will be fine. Highly skilled Belizeans make 2 to 3 hundred US per week and you will be competing with them

L
OP Offline
L
Dabunk,

Thank you and I appreciate your feedback! I certainly do not mind working hard and even for relatively small wages. But I think you misunderstand what a landscape architect is.

I am educated and very experienced in the design and engineering of land development projects from large scale municipal capital improvements to large resort developments and right down to your back yard.

I am a highly skilled architect and developer. I certainly do make a respectable income in the states but would be willing to take the pay cut.

Knowing that, would you feel the same?

Eric

Hi .... I understand well what your profession represents.
Have you visited Belize? Your skills are wonderful but perhaps beyond our level of development and as such will probably fall short of your expectations for demand and level of compensation.

L
OP Offline
L
Diane,

Thank you for your honest commentary. I greatly appreciate it. Do you live full time in Belize? If so, are you a native Belizian or did you find yourself there by some other path?

As far as my work, I can perform it from anywhere. I live near New Orleans but perform services for individuals and companies all over the states and beyond. A decent Internet connection is very helpful but not terribly necessary to me.