Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#516767 08/11/16 03:26 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Hi all,
I'm considering moving to Belize. I am an art teacher and would need to find employment upon arrival. I have prior experience as a jeweler, in retail, and in customer service. I am not sure if any of those skills would be relevant in Belize considering what I have read about obtaining a work permit. I am wondering if that seems possible to those of you that are there or what steps I might be able to take to give myself the best chance of finding work when I am there. Thanks in advance!

You won't be able to work upon arrival. You need a Work Permit and usually can't get one in those jobs that can be filled by a Belizean. Use the search feature on this site to learn about Immigration, Work Permit, etc. Permanent Residency takes some time and it is suggested that you come with enough funds to keep you for 3 years just in case things don't work out the way you planned. Best of luck.

Words have power. Speak it into existence.
What about moving to Belize and starting a company. I think covers the Work Permit issue but of course it opens up a number of others.

What kind of company? I wonder if there are enough educated Belizeans to start a call center? I'm thinking about doing that and I'm one of those people who are really bothered by call center operators that speak English poorly and aren't properly trained to answer questions. I wonder about that.......
I also wonder how many Belizeans would be interested in a Private Nursery School where the kids got a real education........

Some ideas. Want to move to Belize but need to work/start a business. Am experienced business owner/manager...........

Dennis M

You really ought to move here first. Enough educated Belizeans?? A real education? Typical American who does not know their arse from a hole in the ground talking out his arse.

Originally Posted by CBXMAN