Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#517182 08/29/16 08:58 PM
Ryan B Offline OP
OP Offline
Greetings!!!

I've been doing a lot of research on making the move to Belize since I visited way back in 2011, and even more so in the past year. From what I'm able to gather based on reading this blog and others - someone like me is almost always discouraged and advised against moving down there.

First, a little about myself : I am working as a full-time bartender at several busy comedy clubs on Long Island, New York, and I'm also a New York State Licensed Massage Therapist working freelance. I'm big into the outdoors - enjoy hiking, kayaking, music, culture. I have an Associate's Degree, and some (not a lot) money to sustain myself if and when I make the move.

I understand obtaining a work permit could potentially be quite a hurdle, aside from obtaining a job itself of course. But bare in mind, I plan to live VERY modestly....

Most of what I'm reading seems to summarize in saying, "If you don't bring hundreds of thousands of dollars in savings (i.e. retirement) or plan to start your own business, don't bother coming down here." Quite frankly, even if that is informed advice, it sounds rather standoffish.

Would an attempt at moving to Belize be completely futile for a person of my ilk? I am a native New Yorker and have always considered myself to have an innate sense of cynicism (although genuinely retaining a positive outlook on life) but I can't help being taken aback when reading through many of these blog postings. It seems that if I'm a gringo who doesn't have a healthy 401k, successful online business, or trust fund, I'm not wanted. Is this true?

Any and all feedback is appreciated
Thanks for reading,
Ryan

heart

R
R