Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#54081 06/30/02 01:28 AM
B
OP Offline
B
I am moving to Belize and have plans to build a small waterfront resort. It will be located in northern Belize in the Corozal Town area. About 6 - 8 a/c rooms, swimming pool, restaurant & bar.
I am wondering what people/tourists like better.
Thatch cabañas or a concrete building.
The Belize Tourist Board recommended that I should build a concrete motel type building. Others I have talked to say that
I should build thatch cabañas kind of like Ramon's Village (the original individual units) or Captain Morgan's.
What do you forum readers think?
Help, confused...

#54082 06/30/02 02:13 AM
T
T
Lord knows I am no housing expert...ha! But given the hurricane history of the area, I would advise concrete. A new restaurant owner in San Pedro told me he could not get insurance unless he did concrete (rather than wood frame and/or thatch). Just passing this on to you for further research.

#54083 06/30/02 02:16 AM
email us and I'll give you the low down!!
Rick... [email protected]
Thanks

#54084 06/30/02 07:05 AM
An excellent question b4m, and I believe after doing some research on Belize, Ambergris Caye, and tourism since 1996, that I've formed an opinion. Hope it helps you make up your mind.

It does seem obvious to me that tourists definitely prefer the thatched look to concrete. Any reader of this board and other boards can see that it is a very popular roof style with most tourists. But, there are some serious problems that come with this choice as follows.