Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#70469 - 07/02/03 03:16 PM general- i'm a newbie
nikkibear Offline
hey all-
we're planning on staying at caribe island aug 17- 27. any opinions about resort--haven't booked it yet. plan on doing lots of snorkeling maybe trip to tikal. anyone ever been? any info on prices and etc. departure tax? i am starting to worry about money- never done a non- all inclusive. especially since there aren't atm's on the island. how about credit card use? any body have an idea on how much golf cart's are to rent? urghh! thanks

#70470 - 07/02/03 03:20 PM Re: general- i'm a newbie
Turnbun1971 Offline
I think golf carts are about $50/$60 per day. Tikal is AWESOME. I highly recommend it. As far as I remember, credit cards are accepted lots of places. Some places add a credit card fee to your bill, I believe. I haven't stayed at Carribe Island, but hear it's nice. We're getting to AC on Aug. 26 and are staying at Mata Rocks. Hope to run into you while we're there!

#70471 - 07/02/03 03:49 PM Re: general- i'm a newbie
Denny Shane Offline
Personally, if I could do it, I stay away from credit card use in Belize. There is an added cost to your purchase for using a credit card. Only think I even consider using it for is my hotel stay. Places can add anywhere from 2% to 5% per purchase...

#70472 - 07/02/03 04:04 PM Re: general- i'm a newbie
beach bob Offline
nikkibear ~

Caribe Island gets top marks from the folks here, I am sure you will enjoy your stay there.

Departure tax is $20 if memory serves.

Local snorkel trips run $25 - $30US. For the Tikal trip, do a search on this message board, I think it's best done as an overnight? Possibly the only way to do it; it's a long ways from Ambergris Caye ...

Re: credit cards, be aware that most charge a currency fee for charges made outside the US; this will vary so it would pay to find out which CC will charge you the least expensive fees...