Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#77646 - 12/29/03 10:33 PM Snorkeling in AC
FXSTS02 Offline
Howdy everyone. I am hoping to get in lots of snorkeling when I am down there and am wondering if I should buy my snorkel gear before I leave or can I buy some half decent stuff down there for a reasonable price or do the snorkel boats supply some good stuff with their tours and if so ergo the first two questions are kinda moot. Any info anyone could give me would greatly be appreciated as by my questions you can tell I am kind of new at this. If you recommend to buy what is a good mask to get that will give a good seal. confused Thanks and have a good new year.

#77647 - 12/30/03 12:09 AM Re: Snorkeling in AC
Badco Offline
FXSTS, you can rent equipment, but it is generally a better experience to have your own mask/snorkle. I have an Oceanic mask that I love, but try on several, it should fit your face shape & we are all different. Be sure to snorkle Mexico Rocks, really one of my favorites, very shallow & colorful. I avoid using fins here, the current pulls you along & I have seen much coral damaged from getting kicked as well as people pulling/pushing themselves along off of it. Just wear beach shoes here & enjoy the float. Good spots off caulker as well as shark ray & Hol Chan. Be sure & do a night snorkle, much more large fish to be seen then. I use Amigos del Mar, but the island has many, many great tour providers, they just happen to be my choice. smile

#77648 - 12/30/03 10:48 AM Re: Snorkeling in AC
mikell Offline
recommend buying your own mask at least...go into a dive shop and try on a few to see what fits you...they will help explain how to get a good fit for you...everyone is different...and if you have an odd shape (or a moustache!!) it is often hard to find one...my husband had this problem...but every mask in the shop fit me well!