Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#81412 - 03/02/04 05:11 AM A Camera Question - dangerous I know!
BNBelizeSoon Offline
I have purchased the housing for my Olympus C-750 for some underwater pictures. Now I need to know what other accessories I need: Do I need an extra O ring? Balance Weight? LCD Hood? Silica and Silicone grease? and what is a circular polarizer... As you can tell I'm very new to this and I was hoping for a little information from some of you great photogs from the board.

#81413 - 03/02/04 05:55 AM Re: A Camera Question - dangerous I know!
Anonymous
What kind of housing did you buy?

Do I need an extra O ring?
You should have an extra O ring kit for the housing, you never know when you might need it. You should clean and inspect the O rings often, if you find a small cut/gouge you can replace it with a new one, otherwise the housing could leak. A couple of drops of salt water in a camera will toast it.

LCD Hood?
No, cause it wonít fit in a housing.

Balance Weight?
No.

Silica?
I canít imagine why.

Silicone grease?
Absolutely, you will need to clean, inspect and lubricate the O ring that is in the housing.

Circular Polarizer
For surface shots you may want one, it can aid in reducing glare. Not needed underwater.

One last word of cautionÖ There is always a chance of a flood/leak, if you cannot deal with a ruined camera donít put it in the water.

But what do I know...

#81414 - 03/02/04 06:14 AM Re: A Camera Question - dangerous I know!
BNBelizeSoon Offline
I purchased the Olympus PT-018 underwater housing. These things all came up as recommended to buy. I was going to purchase the O-ring and the grease, the silica gel was recommended for something, but I can't remember what. I'm hoping that instructions come with the housing or I could be in trouble. I'll be searching for help while in Belize...

#81415 - 03/02/04 06:15 AM Re: A Camera Question - dangerous I know!
BNBelizeSoon Offline