Portofino Resort- Now with a new BEACH BAR!!
Topic Options
#87861 - 06/10/04 10:42 PM island attire?
Sandal Offline
I'm new to Belize!!!! What is the "Dress Code" for dinner. Do you see most everyting from shorts to sundresses? We've visited other islands and at dinner Lds.-sundresses. Men-dress pants,collared shirts, but I hear Belize is much more laid back. Can someone give me some insight?

#87862 - 06/10/04 11:13 PM Re: island attire?
toad Offline
why do you care what other people are wearing?...

#87863 - 06/10/04 11:38 PM Re: island attire?
Sam Scuba Offline
I have been to Ambergris Caye 3 times and will be returning in July. You are correct that the island is very laid back and casual. If you bring nothing but shorts and tee shirts, you will blend. I have seen posts by women who take sun dresses, but they are certainly in the minority.

Another tip: Since the roads are all unpaved, it is pointless to take anything but shoes that can be rinsed off under running water. So I take my casual flip flops and my dress flip flops.

There are numerous posts by people who have gone to San Pedro armed with far too many outfits and brought most of them home clean. As a chronic heavy packer, I am trying to turn over a new leaf myself. So pack light and enjoy the freedom.

#87864 - 06/11/04 01:11 AM Re: island attire?
seashell Offline
Sundresses are lighter and easier to pack than a bunch of shorts and t-shirts (for the ladies that is). They are generally cooler too.

That said, I always pack like a princess. I usually stay quite a while and I like to have choices. That said, I generally end up wearing the same pair or two of shorts over and over and over, instead of the other 3 I also packed just so that I'd have choices. Most important thing is lots of clean undies . . . especially bras for the ladies . . . even more especially if you like to dance.