Previous Gallery
Next Gallery
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#301148 09/28/08 11:42 PM
15 Images
What damages the roads

This afternoon the tide was out and some fill had been added to the road just north of the bridge THANKS TO WHOEVER DID IT!
I took these pictures to show the cause of the ongoing road damage.
I am not an engineer but I'm sure some of you can report how heavy these various loads are. Each time one of these pieces of equipment goes through the soft sand several inches of mud is displaced.
My contention is that those who are using the road and causing the problem should be responsible for maintaining the road.
Peter - As I have said before - but you don't want to hear it - Neither Bob Kjorlein (The Cloisters) or Chris Barenfanger (The Bermuda's) has ever had a piece of heavy equipment on what is known as the road. The access paths that they use are kept in good condition.
Chris Barenfanger actually paid his crew and bought materials to lay down two cement treads the width of golf carts and that afternoon - while the cement was still wet - one of the front loaders owned by a developer further north unnecessarily drove through it. The tread marks are literally - set in concrete.
11 Comments
Great Photos Scubalady
Almost everyone I speak with remarks about their taxes and the Town Board building a decent road.
Waiting for this to happen is probably foolish. The Town board has no plans to build a road nor feels the responsibility. The attitude is to let those investing pay for the roads.
Forgetting the fantasy about a road and buying a boat is very practical.

White Sands Dive Shop
https://whitesandsdiveshop.com/
There was an article recently in the island newspapers about the Mayor from Chetumal visiting and one of the things they discussed was a plan to build a road from San Pedro to Xcalak.

Great Idea It could connect to North Ambergris International Airport.

White Sands Dive Shop