Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
Larkz Offline OP
OP Offline
L
This is my first visit to this forum, so forgive me if my question is a repeat or in the wrong place. I'll be able to visit Ambergris Caye for just one afternoon in December. I'm a photographer and a fanatic for insects, spiders, and creepy crawlies. Any suggestions for a park, a tour, or good place to hike for a few hours?

You want a wooded area out of town. I would suggest a tour of the Marco Gonzalez Maya Ruins. It still has native stands of hardwoods and shrubs. This could easily be done in one afternoon, as it's just a few miles south of town.

Coleen

Beach bum, butterfly stalker, native plant enthusiast.
Great suggestion Chica Blanca...We recently did the tour and I remember a super big insect nest in one of the trees....Not bees but I can't remember what they were....Lots of creepy crawlers to choose from and you get a great tour of a Virgin Mayan site....Have fun!

My friends call me Judyann

www.blackorchidrestaurant.com
Do you recognize outlandish critters? I have a photo of one I found in the forest that I've had no luck identifying --- if I find it I'll scan it and see if you can tell me what it is /was.

check out the bug exhibit at the Belize Museum in Belize City. do not miss it. you will go bananas. you will be overwhelmed.

OH YEA - the "Bugs of Belize" exhibit is AMAZING.
How about that peanut bug - gives me the willies.

My first reaction was 'my place!' However I think Marco Gonzales is a better idea. I've gotten into photographing anything that moves. I was going to sacrifice some hermit crabs for their beautiful shells but first I put them on my glass top table and photographed them. After downloading the images and seeing those cute faces with the 'bug yes' I just couldn't do it.