Time for Belize to focus on free education and job development

By Wellington C. Ramos

I graduated from Sacred Heart Primary School in the late 1960s. After graduating from there, my family sent me to Austin High School. I was the first of my mother's children to be sent to high school because she couldn't afford to send my older sister and two brothers. They all had the academic potential to complete high school but because of lack of money they were forced to do something different. My sister moved to Belize City to seek employment and my two older brothers joined the Belize Police and Special Force.

There are many people graduating from high schools in Belize that lack academic potential but their families have the money to pay for their high school tuition so they end up graduating. When these people graduate from high school, some of them look down upon those who dropped out of high school that had the academic potential but whose families did not have the money to pay their tuition fees.

After one year of high school my mother could not afford the cost of sending me to high school anymore so I was forced to quit. I then went to work in Mango Creek for a couple months and from there I followed my two older brothers to Belize City. Shortly after I arrived in Belize City, I found a job at the British Forces Airport Camp where I worked for three years as a maintenance worker. In April 1973, I followed my two brothers and joined the Belize Police Force where I was employed until July 1978 before I migrated to the United States. Maybe, if I had completed my high school education, I would not have joined the police force. There are thousands of Belizean families who have to face this situation up to this day.