AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Posted By: Jude Just Back from a Taste of Paradise! - 02/27/05 03:43 PM
Got in this AM around 1 o'clock, still have that "travel motion feeling" happening. This was our first visit to AC. This messge board was very helpful in our getting our bearings on what things we wanted to try and see and do when we got there. But of course nothing can really prepare you for the transformation you feel by around day three on the island. It's something magical that takes hold over you. You have to experience it to fully understand. The local people are amazing and the air is full of their voices and the children's laughter. We stayed in town and spent long hours just relaxing on beach chairs listening and watching all that was going on around us. Many of the children just sat down and visited with us. I am a primary teacher and two sisters joined us (ages 5 and 8) and told us all about their daily experiences at school. They had us in hysterics trying to fool us with their many stories. Many of the kids seem to enjoy teasing the tourists to joke and interract. They are very personable.
It was great to visit all the places I had read about like: Papi's, the hand ferry, Fidos, chicken drop @Spindrift's, Wet Willies etc. There was a full moon while we were there and we walked up to Ramon's and sat out on the end of their dock each evening, pure heaven. Had two great days with Seaduced : cave tubing and then catamaran snorkel trip. Met many people from all over and slowed our lives down enough to take notice and enjoy the moment. A week is not long enough so will plan a longer trip to AC for the future. Still too many things not experienced there yet. We met one couple who was there for their fifth trip. They stay about 3-4 weeks each time. Sounds like the right way to do AC!
Posted By: Bobber Re: Just Back from a Taste of Paradise! - 02/27/05 04:16 PM