AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Posted By: colomojo T-mobile phones - 05/12/09 12:34 AM
I know this question has likely been asked before (I've searched but have only found a generic answer) I am wondering if someone with my same carrier has been successful using their phone on the island. Our Tmobile phones are 4 band with sim cards, how (if) do we proceed to use them while there? I have read in the past they have to be BTL compatible, does that have to do with the band? I am not too tech savvy but would like to be in communication with others while on the island and to check in here at home.

Thank you!
Posted By: ExOkie Re: T-mobile phones - 05/12/09 05:05 AM
I had no trouble using my T-Mobile RazR last May and my Blackberry this January. As soon as I landed in in BZE it picked up BTL's signal. I try not to use my phone there but during TS Arthur last May it worked fine as I had to call the US to make emergency flight arrangements. I do have WorldPhone service (I believe that's what they call it) as part of my package.

One thing I did this January was turn off my data service on my Blackberry before I left the US to keep it from pinging the local service.

That was my experience FWIW.
Posted By: GBZ39 Re: T-mobile phones - 05/12/09 01:47 PM
I've bought a local SIM card for local usefor the last 3 years. You'll need to have your phone unlocked by T-Mobile prior to your arrival in Belize.
Posted By: Islenutt Re: T-mobile phones - 05/12/09 01:50 PM
If you email T-Mobile they will send you the instructions for unlocking your phone. I bought a local sim card at Warpaint and had no issues. Of course I was lucky enough to have Tacoboy to do the techie stuff. smile
Posted By: DeeDeeuz Re: T-mobile phones - 05/12/09 03:07 PM
Does anyone know aything about Verizon? Is it the same situation as T mobile down there? Don't have worldwide coverage just the usual.
Posted By: colomojo Re: T-mobile phones - 05/12/09 03:47 PM