AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Belmopan, Belize, 8 November 2011- The Mexican Embassy invites the general public to the opening of the art exhibition "The Creation of Eve" by the renowned Belizean painter and musician Pen Cayetano.

The exhibition forms part of the Garifuna celebrations in Belize, and will be inaugurated at the Institute of Mexico in Belize, on Friday, November 11th, 2011 at 6:30 p.m.

For the sixth time since 1996, the Mexican Embassy has been hosting the exhibition depicting the latest artistic production by Master Pen Cayetano, one of the most important cultural figures during the celebrations in November dedicated to the Garifuna culture.

Delvin "Pen" Cayetano, painter, singer, songwriter, percussionist, guitarist, is the leading cultural reviver and Ambassador of the Garinagu. He was born in 1954 in Dangriga, the cultural capital of the Garinagu. He is a self-taught painter and musician.

Cayetano began his artistic career as a painter in the 70's. His paintings portray scenes of everyday life in Belize, its folklore, history and Garifuna culture. His works has been exhibited in the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Belgium and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. In Mexico, his exhibitions have been hosted at the Museum of Mayan Culture in Chetumal and at the National Museum of Cultures in Mexico City. An upcoming exhibition will be presented in the Mexican city of Merida.

In 2008, the Language, Dance and Music of the Garifuna were inscribed in the List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of UNESCO (United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization).

This latest exhibition, "The Creation of Eve" which includes more than 30 oil paintings will open on Friday, November 11th, at 6:30 pm at the Institute of Mexico in Belize. Entrance will be free and open to the general public. The exhibition will remain open until November 30th, 2011.