AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Posted By: Marty Lauren Young Art Show - 04/18/12 03:09 PM

Art Show: Black & White With A Splash Of Colour

Tomorrow night a young Belizean artist will make her debut at the Belisle Gallery Bliss Centre with her exhibit: Black & White With A Splash of Colour. Lauren Young has been drawing from she was a child. She has steadily been building up a catalogue of works and tomorrow evening from 6 to 8:30 they will be launched. It features mostly black and white sketches, and when we caught up with Young today, she told us more about her drawing style and what can be expected at tomorrow's show.

Lauren Young - Belizean Artist
"It's a display of sketches and drawings that I have done over the past 8 years and I have decided to do a premier show at this time. The sketches on display are from the age of 16 when I graduated from high school up to this point. If you notice a lot of the pieces in this collection or display has to do a lot with the human anatomy, that's something that I like when it comes to the shadow playing and all of that, that's something that I like when it comes to the anatomy because it shows a lot of the details that you wouldn't notice a lot of times."

Robin Schaffer
"So which one took you the longest to do?"

Lauren Young - Belizean Artist
"The longest to do? Hmmm. It's one that will be in the display but I did not bring it as yet because I didn't want to show it because it's like a surprise, which actually took me about 3 months to complete it."

"The show will be a bit of everything in the sense that it's something new, it's something fresh, It provides a lot of different styles. It has abstract, it has sketches it has portraits. If you don't like a piece that you see or you don't want that specific piece or you want something else you can come and see the different styles that I have and I can definitely do something for you."