AmbergrisCaye.com Home
http://StormEngineered.com

I have made reference here to the fact that we (there are actually, in fact, *three* gringas ;-) are starting a business based here in Maya Centre Village (Stann Creek Dist, between Dangriga and Placencia, at the entrance to the Cockscomb Preserve). Naturally I have had some inquiries and, at the risk of "advertising" in this public space, I have taken the liberty of adapting the following from a reply I wrote recently:

. . .

Storm Engineered Structures (a trademark of Avalon Enterprises, Ltd. of Belize), based here in Maya Centre Village (with an "office" of sorts in Dangriga), is a start-up hurricane-resistant-home manufacturing company which we've been putting together for the past several years.

I am an engineer and entrepreneur, with 25 years background in business, engineering, construction, manufacturing, and project management -- mostly (but not entirely) in the USA.

Following the hurricanes of the preceding few years -- and observing the reaction here in terms of the ramping up of (expensive, often unsafely built, and IMO, ugly) concrete construction -- I set about designing a modular system which would incorporate the structural design approach of the steel-frame-on-concrete-pile system usually reserved for bridgebuilding and towers, with the economics of preassembled manufactured modules, and the traditional architecture of the hardwood-clad coastal Caribbean home [please see full-color rendering below; for floorplans and other details, see contact info below].

Installed costs are expected to be similar to a well-built wood-frame house, and roughly half those of an equivalent, safely-constructed concrete home.

The details: