Nestor Vasquez #549616
04/20/21 04:40 AM
04/20/21 04:40 AM
2 Images
oregon, spr
Marty Offline OP

Nestor Vasquez

A FAREWELL TO NET

<> The family of Nestor "Net" Vasquez Sr. is mourning his passing this afternoon after he suffered a fatal head injury from a fall yesterday. He passed away peacefully in the presence of his family at Belize Medical Associates.

Net was born on September 8, 1931 in San Pedro Village and lived with enthusiasm and unrelenting energy.

An accountant by profession, he will best be remembered as a nationalist and a patriot. He was also active in the Catholic Church.

Net was one of the founding members of the UDP and was instrumental in getting the party elected to office for the first time 1984.

He was also the founder and owner of Channel 7 getting that television station (Belize's first free to air broadcast) on air in 1981.

His career in positions of public service dates back to the 60's when he led Belize's first Olympic team which went to the Mexico games in 1968.

He served on the Central Bank in the mid-80's, helping to take Belize out of an IMF standby agreement and then moving on to lead the first privatization in Belize, which was BTL in 1988.

Since then he has served on various government and private boards, including chairing BEL and BTL, serving various times on the Central Bank, as well as the Social Security Board, the APBEL Board, and the Integrity Commission.

And tonight in the immediate wake of his sudden passing we hear from his friend and fellow party member Micheal Finnegan who told us that the man he knew as "Net" was one of the best people he has had the pleasure to know. He also expressed his pride at having been associated with Nestor Vasquez Sr. both as a colleague and dear friend.

Michael Finnegan, Family Friend
"I was shocked and I felt the grief because he was closely associated to his beloved United Democratic Party which I am a associated with also."