Polonio elected President National Garifuna Council

Friday, 17 March 2006

Garifuna people from all 10 branches of the National Garifuna Council, converged on the southern town of Punta Gorda Town in the Toledo District for the Councilís 22 annual convention.

The event, at the Father Ring Parish Hall, lasted from March 3 - 5. It was well attended with members and friends coming from Barranco, Belize City, Belmopan, Dangriga, Georgetown, Hopkins, Libertad, Punta Gorda, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye and Seine Bight.

The main business of the 3-day convention was the election of executive officers for the period 2006 - 2008.

The convention elected Michael Polonio to be its President.

Loretta Palacio was elected First Vice-President, Peter Ciego Second Vice-President, and Ernest Castro, Treasurer.

Dativa Martinez was elected Assistant Treasurer while Franklin Martinez and Fabian Cayetano were elected Secretary and Assistant Secretary respectively.

The convention devoted a lot of time to discussing the St. Vincent Estate, which measures 1,000 acres adjacent to Punta Gorda Town.

This Garifna reserve has generated much controversal discussion in the past. This land with its famous Cerro Hill, has been the envy of many residents of Punta Gorda Town.

Dangriga, the cultural capital, will be the venue for the Miss Garifuna pageant this year and the host of the 23 Annual Convention to be held in March next year.