Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#215271 10/24/01 02:54 PM
C
Caitlin Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I am a full time student studying marine biology and thinking of taking a year off and moving to Caye Caulker. A year ago i spent some time down there and fell in love with the island. I dont really know much about how to go about this, but i do know that it is something that i really want to do. Any suggestions of where to go to find apartments, job opportunites, or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou,
Caitlin

#215272 10/24/01 04:30 PM
A
Anonymous
Anonymous
A
Caitlin,

So you want to take some time off and have chosen Caye Caulker to do so. Great. It is indeed a wonderful choice.

However (everything comes with a however doesn't it?) you will not be able to do paid work. Please save your money before you arrive so you are able to fully support yourself while on the Caye. Belizeans need jobs before tourists so the country has put in place severe restrictions on work visas/permits. Most likely you will not be allowed to work for wages.

Instead you could do volunteer work using your education in marine biology. Maybe you could do species counts for the Audobon Society or some similar organization. Perhaps a professor in your field will have a project going that you can lend a hand to. You will need to bring your own

Sorry to put a damper on your plans but you have to be practical.

#215273 10/26/01 02:14 PM
R
RL Offline
R
Be Practial,
Do you happen to know where I could go to get other good information concerning work. I was thinking of purchasing a place there in CC and running my own business. I have been to CC many times, thus the desire to be there on a more permanate basis.

#215274 10/27/01 09:56 PM
R
R
Caitlin,