Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
A
Anonymous
Anonymous
A
I'm also intrigued by the term "compliance officer" I know a bit about it, having been a compliance officer for a large business. To be a "compliance officer" in any meaningful sense you have to have rules to comply with, and you have to report to some sort of regulatory authority. Amongst other things. Can TL please explain exactly how these concepts apply in the realty selling business in Belize? In other words, supply some substance to support the jargon? Because to me (and I'm an amateur in this business) it sounds so far like so much BS.

Nancy may have obtained part of the answer she desired, if only by reading between the lines.

If you're so intrigued call her. Or is this an example of the fun loving helpful kind of communication that is being suggested? Read the lines on this one. There's nothing in between.

Hi Nancy 1340,
Since you own property in USVI, you are probably aware of some of the pitfalls in purchasing property outside the mainland. Although, buying in the USVI is a lot like buying in the US, safeguards are in place to protect you. It is also easier to obtain a mortgage should you need one.
Here is how we approach buying property outside the US.
Never by on the first trip.
As Elbert said, get a good attorney and one that is not associated with the real estate firm. Interview him/her to be sure that the attorney will represent your interests.
Interview the agents that you have an interest in or that have been referred to you. Interview thier boss or broker which ever is the title they use. Even though companies carry an international logo, some may not be right for you(sorry TL)
We have been going to AC for three years, I hope our next trip will be the one to purchase a little piece of tranquility.
Hope this helps.

I was out of town when it happen
N
OP Offline
N
I really appreciate everyone's suggestions.