Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#262687 01/12/08 08:34 AM
OP Offline
Can anyone give me the name/# of the agency in charge of issuing medical licensure in Belize?

I am a US physician planning to move to Belize. I would like to start the process now as I'm sure it will take some time for approval.

Thomas Blackledge, M.D.
601-849-1918

Future full time Belizeans
Tommy & Sonia Blackledge
Magee, MS 601-849-1918
C
C

I would contact the Director of immigration at' 011 501 822 2611 , You may want to find out if they will allow you to practice here. They should also have answers to your questions.

LONELY PLANET SAYS TOURIST LOVE OUR ART. BEST PRICES ON ART.
Cooper #262694 01/12/08 09:33 AM
Ministry of Health 011 501 822 2325
Ministers office 011 501 822 0589

S
S
Hi. I'm also looking into retiring abroad, or maybe continuing telemedicine part time to a clinic or two in the States. May I take advantage of what you've learned about getting licensed in Belize?

...and take away a job? there is paranoia about that..

...however...if you really are a shrink...might be a good place to come! wink

Belize is in need of psychiatrists and psychologists. You may find it easier to get licensed here, if that is the case.

OP Offline
"You may find it easier to get licensed here, if that is the case."

Need has NOTHING to do with licensure.

Belize has a "protectionism" attitude toward licensure for pretty much all work permits / licenses and especially the medical license.

Example: there is an anestesiologist who has been living on the island as "common law" wife of another local physcian for six years or more. She has been repeatedly denied a license for "private practice". According to her husband she will soon complete some addition requirements to finally get her license.